GlaxoSmithKline announces board changes

London UK -- GlaxoSmithKline plc (GSK) announces that Mr. James Murdoch has been appointed as a Non-Executive Director and will join the Board of the Company with effect from 20th May 2009. On appointment, James will also become a member of GSK’s Corporate Responsibility Committee. James is Chairman and Chief Executive of News Corporation Europe and Asia.

It is also announced that Sir Ian Prosser and Dr Ronaldo Schmitz will retire from the Board at the conclusion of the Annual General Meeting on 20th May 2009.
Commenting on the changes, Sir Christopher Gent, Chairman of GSK, said:

“I am delighted to welcome James to the Board of GSK. His experience of global business, marketing and communications will bring a unique and alternative perspective to the Board. He will also be an excellent addition to the Board’s Corporate Responsibility Committee, an area where he has shown particular leadership at BSkyB and News Corporation.

“I would like to thank both Sir Ian and Ronaldo for their dedicated service to the Boards of GSK and the heritage companies. I have always valued their support and wish them well for the future.”

Sir Robert Wilson will succeed Sir Ian as GSK’s Senior Independent Non-Executive Director. Sir Robert will step down as Chairman of the Remuneration Committee and will be succeeded by Sir Crispin Davis. Professor Sir Roy Anderson will also join the Audit Committee with effect from 20th May 2009.

Biographical details of James Murdoch are given below.

S M Bicknell
Company Secretary

Biographical details
James Murdoch was appointed Chairman and Chief Executive, News Corp, Europe and Asia, in 2007. In this role, he has direct responsibility for the strategic and operational development of News Corporation’s television, newspaper and related digital assets in Europe, Asia and the Middle East. At the same time, James was appointed Non-Executive Chairman of BSkyB and re-joined the Board of News Corporation. James served as Chief Executive Officer of BSkyB from 2003 to 2007 and was previously Chairman and CEO of Star TV.

James serves on the Board of Yankee Global Enterprises, the Board of Trustees of the Harvard Lampoon and the Leadership Council of The Climate Group.

1. The appointment of James Murdoch as a Non-Executive Director has been made by the Board on the recommendation of the Nominations Committee.

2. On appointment, James will be a member of the Corporate Responsibility Committee which provides a Board-level forum for the regular review of external issues that might have the potential for serious impact upon the Group’s business and reputation.

3. As a Non-Executive Director of GSK, James will receive fees of £75,000 per annum.

4. The Board has determined that James will be an independent Non-Executive Directors in accordance with the Combined Code on Corporate Governance.

5. Sir Ian Prosser was appointed to the Board of the newly formed GlaxoSmithKline plc in May 2000, having previously served on the Board of SmithKline Beecham plc since 1999. He has been the Senior Independent Non-Executive Director since January 2004.

6. Dr Ronaldo Schmitz was also appointed to the Board of GlaxoSmithKline plc in May 2000, having previously served on the Board of Glaxo Wellcome plc since 1997. He was Chairman of the Audit Committee from 2001 until 2006.

7. With effect from 20th May 2009 the composition of the Board of GlaxoSmithKline plc will be as follows:

Sir Christopher Gent Non-Executive Chairman
Sir Robert Wilson Senior Independent Non-Executive Director
Andrew Witty Chief Executive Officer
Julian Heslop Chief Financial Officer
Moncef Slaoui Executive Director, Chairman, Research & Development
Professor Sir Roy Anderson Independent Non-Executive Director
Dr Stephanie Burns Independent Non-Executive Director
Mr H Lawrence Culp Independent Non-Executive Director
Sir Crispin Davis Independent Non-Executive Director
Sir Deryck Maughan Independent Non-Executive Director
Mr James Murdoch Independent Non-Executive Director
Dr Daniel Podolsky Independent Non-Executive Director
Mr Tom de Swaan Independent Non-Executive Director

GlaxoSmithKline – one of the world’s leading research-based pharmaceutical and healthcare companies – is committed to improving the quality of human life by enabling people to do more, feel better and live longer.

SOURCE: GlaxoSmithKline

To read more People News articles, click here.

Reference Articles